Posted in 4 star, Book Review, Shakespeare

The madness of grief: A Review of Hamlet

A father murdered, a mother married to an uncle, a ghost calling for revenge, who wouldn’t lose it a bit? Hamlet is William Shakspeare’s incredibly famous tragedy, and it lives up to its name full of murder and ghosts, and soliloquies a lot of soliloquies.

589px-File-Hamlet,_Prince_of_Demark_Act_I_Scene_IV.jpg

Originally reading through Hamlet I thought it was just a bunch of dumb soliloquies, the second time I realized it was a bunch of fricking awesome soliloquies. Amazing what age can do to your view of the world. Full of madness and human thought Hamlet is fascinating. I was never sure if he was completely bonkers or a fabulous actor or maybe a little bit of both. It became abundantly clear this time around that he was always a bit of a depressive suicidal child before the murder most foul bomb was dropped.

“‘Seems,’ madam? Nay, it is. I know not ‘seems'” (1.2.76). Years ago it was amazing how obsessed with this line my Shakespeare teacher was, he adored it and I find the subtleties of this line to hold great meaning. Can’t hear the word seems the same anymore.

It was a play of grief, madness, revenge, and ambition. I liked the development of Hamlet’s character, from his paralysis of thought evolving into decisive action. You never love Hamlet but you sympathize with him, with the horror of his reality and the brokenness of his home. The pressure on him and the fear of how to answer to a ghost appearing to him claiming to be his father.

Why, look you now how unworthy a thing you make

of me: you woudl play upon me, you would seem to know my

stops, you would pluck out the heart of my mystery…

‘Sblood, do you think I am easier

to be played on then a pipe? (3.2.337-43).

Full of great speeches, with beautiful, powerful lines. A plot that was interesting and yet statements it is a brilliant example of some of Shakespeare’s best work. This was a truly vicious tragedy.

What peice of work is a

man–how noble in reason, how infinite in faculties, in form

and moving how express and admirable, in action how like

an angel, in apprehension how like a god, the beauty of the

world, the paragon of animals–and yet to me what is this

quintessence of dust? (2.2.264-269)

Honestly, I was a little freaked out by how obsessed Hamlet was with his own mother’s sexuality, don’t read Faulkner’s thoughts on it, freaking weird stuff man. Also, his relationship with Ophelia horrified and amused me, his response to women is an incredibly weird part fo the story but also very interesting the literary nut in me loves to explore this character flaw.

“With mirth in funeral and with dirge in marriage” (1.2.12)

All be honest I totally found Claudius’s character to be super interesting, his ability to so effectively corrupt language to his purpose, his own awareness of himself as a character and his manipulation of others, made him an effective and intriguing villain.

“My words fly up, my thoughts remain below;/ Words without thoughts never to heaven go” (3.3.97-98).

Thought I’d take a page from Hamlet and fill it with a bunch of great lines and insane speeches!

General rating: 4 of 5 stars

Parental Rating: 14 and up so the inappropriate jokes can be appreciated.

A staple of Shakespeare’s works a play that must be read, Hamlet is worth taking the time to appreciate and enjoy. Don’t go in with the preconceptions you got in school go with fresh eye and footnotes so you can step back from the madness and enjoy the dirty jokes.

Bernhardt_Hamlet2

Author:

What can I truly say about myself, I love to write, I love to read, it's what keeps me going, it's what feeds my soul, and inspires me. Writing is something I have always loved, and I plan on doing it till my fingers fall off. I am a Trekkie, and a Whovian. Tolkien is my master of Fantasy, I love the Supernatural family, Asimov my lord of Sci-Fi, Wilde the commander of wit. One Punch Man sets me off into hysterical giggles and Marvel stands at the top, with all my heroes present. "I super believe in you, Tad Cooper" -Galavant

2 thoughts on “The madness of grief: A Review of Hamlet

  1. I love Hamlet! His relationship to women is very interesting, I agree. Also I’m never sure if Hamlet is actually mad or not… he’s most comfortable around the actors, so perhaps he’s just an actor himself… Kenneth Branagh plays it very ambiguously which I like. Have you seen Branagh’s version of it? It’s very good. Anyway thanks for the review, I enjoyed seeing your thoughts!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hamlet and women is a whole post of its own haha! I found that to be interesting myself he feels comfortbale following into an assigned role for himself. One given to him by others (his fathers ghost) allows him a sort of freedom he ssemd to lack before. I haven’t seen that version. I watched the Derek Jacobi version, with Partick Stewart as Claudius, the one from 1980. Now I am watching the David Tennant one, cause Patrick Stewart is Claudius again. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment